The smart home standards Zigbee and Z-Wave at a glance.
What you need to know about ZigBee and Z-Wave and what the differences between these smart home standards are.

With the increasing use of smart home devices such as Amazon Echo & Co. at home, we are seeing a number of competing smart home standards for wireless networking. This includes not only the familiar WLAN and Bluetooth, but also others like ZigBee and Z-Wave. What are the differences between these standards and can they be used in the same household or office?


The smart home standards Zigbee and Z-Wave at a glance.

Z-Wave

Together with ZigBee, Z-Wave is today one of the most widely used wireless smart home standards. The Z-Wave Alliance has more than 1,300 certified devices on the market and 35 million compatible devices sold. Both Z-Wave and ZigBee use symmetric AES-128 encryption as offered by some online banks to protect communications. The devices are easy to set up and do not require cabling. Major brands such as Honeywell or manufacturers such as ADT and Fibaro work with Z-Wave.

Fibaro's smart home products

The Z-Wave Standard is the only technology on the market that provides application-level interoperability and backward compatibility across all versions. If something is Z-Wave certified, it works with any other Z-Wave product, no matter how old or new the device is. However, there is a catch: American Z-Wave devices cannot connect to European devices, as in America a different radio frequency is used. So always make sure for which market the hardware was made to avoid communication problems.

Z-Wave products include a range of smart locks, thermostats, sensors, hubs, and lights. Since Z-Wave uses a low-frequency radio band, the devices do not disturb the Wi-Fi network. However, there may be problems with cordless landline phones.


However, Z-Wave is relatively slow with data rates up to 100 kilobits per second (kbps). In comparison, its competitor ZigBee can reach up to 250 kbps at certain wavelengths, while the latest version of WiFi (which also consumes significantly more power than ZigBee or Z-Wave) can reach 1 gigabit per second – 1 million kbps.

ZigBee

Unlike the Z-Wave standard, ZigBee is an open smart home standard based on the IEEE 802.15.4 wireless data specification. Manufacturers of ZigBee devices include GE Appliances, LG, Logitech, Philips Hue Lights and Samsung. (Some of these manufacturers also use Z-Wave, Bluetooth or Wi-Fi.) ZigBee is also used by Comcast and Time Warner Cable in home gateway routers and satellite receivers.

Amazon Echo Plus
Amazon's Echo works with the ZigBee Smart Home Standard. (Source: amazon.com)
Amazon's Echo works with the ZigBee Smart Home Standard. (Source: amazon.com)

The Zigbee frequencies are around 868 MHz, 915 MHz and 2.4 GHz in the unlicensed ISM bands, which allows for low power consumption but limits the data to 40 kbps or to the 2.4 GHz frequency, resulting in up to 250 kbps but could interfere with Wi-Fi networks. ZigBee products include the Philips Hue intelligent light bulb, the Logitech Harmony Ultimate One, Bosch motion detectors and Indesit washing machines. ZigBee also supports battery-powered devices, some of which can be run on a battery pack for up to seven years.

Because the two protocols communicate differently, ZigBee and Z-Wave devices are often incompatible. Many smart home hubs, such as Lowe’s Iris, Wink’s Hub and Samsung SmartThings support both protocols, though this is not the case on the packaging.

As mentioned above, ZigBee is slightly faster than Z-Wave and is generally cheaper to implement for device manufacturers. ZigBee currently has a range of 10 – 75 meters, while with Z-Wave 30 -150 meters can be achieved.

Our conclusion

From the consumer’s point of view, it does not matter which smart home wireless standard you choose, especially since ZigBee and Z-Wave are practically identical in terms of functionality and power consumption. The power consumption of the bridge is always minimal, but compatible devices must be in standby, e.g. to remotely comtrol by smartphone. The more devices you integrate, the more power is consumed.


The best way to decide which smart home devices you want to use is to see how many of them are available on one standard or the other. Fortunately, many brands of smart home network hubs are already compatible with two or more of these smart home standards.

Will there ever be a general smart home standard? That remains the big question of the future. Experts in the industry say that ZigBee and Z-Wave have had 10 years to form alliances and certify devices, with the result that thousands of compatible devices are on the market. It is thought that it will be another 10 years before we see a consolidation.


Menu
Share this with a friend

Die Smart Home Standards Zigbee und Z-Wave im Überblick.
Was Sie unter ZigBee und Z-Wave verstehen müssen und was die Unterschiede zwischen diesen Smart Home Standards sind.

Mit der steigenden Verwendung von Smart Home Geräten wie Amazon Echo & Co. im eigenen Zuhause, sehen wir eine Reihe von konkurrierenden Smart Home Standards für drahtlose Netzwerke. Dazu gehören nicht nur das vertraute WLAN und Bluetooth, sondern auch andere wie ZigBee und Z-Wave. Was sind die Unterschiede zwischen diesen Standards und können sie im selben Haushalt oder Büro verwendet werden?


Die Smart Home Standards Zigbee und Z-Wave im Überblick.

Z-Wave

Zusammen mit ZigBee ist Z-Wave heute einer der am weitesten verbreiteten drahtlosen Smart Home Standards. Die Z-Wave Alliance zählt mehr als 1.300 zertifizierte Geräte auf dem Markt und 35 Millionen verkaufte kompatible Geräte. Sowohl Z-Wave als auch ZigBee verwenden symmetrische AES-128-Verschlüsselung, wie sie auch von einigen Online-Banken angeboten wird, um die Kommunikation zu schützen. Die Geräte sind einfach einzurichten und erfordern keine Verkabelung. Große Marken wie Honeywell oder Hersteller wie ADT und Fibaro arbeiten mit Z-Wave.

Fibaro's Smart Home Produkte

Der Z-Wave Standard ist die einzige Technologie auf dem Markt, die Interoperabilität auf Anwendungsebene bietet und die Rückwärtskompatibilität in allen Versionen gewährleistet. Wenn etwas Z-Wave zertifiziert ist, funktioniert es mit jedem anderen Z-Wave Produkt, egal wie alt oder neu das Gerät ist. Allerdings gibt es einen Haken: amerikanische Z-Wave-Geräte können sich nicht mit europäischen Geräten verbinden, da in Amerika über eine andere Funkfrequenz kommuniziert wird. Stellen Sie also immer sicher, für welchen Markt die Hardware hergestellt wurde, um Kommunikationsprobleme zu vermeiden.

Zu Z-Wave Produkten gehören eine Reihe intelligenter Schlösser, Thermostate, Sensoren, Hubs und Beleuchtungen. Da Z-Wave ein niederfrequentes Funkband verwendet, stören die Geräte nicht das WLAN-Netzwerk. Allerdings kann es bei schnurlosen Festnetztelefonen zu Problemen kommen.


Z-Wave ist mit Datenübertragungsraten von bis zu 100 Kilobit pro Sekunde (kbit/s) jedoch relativ langsam. Im Vergleich dazu kann sein Konkurrent ZigBee bei bestimmten Wellenlängen bis zu 250 kbps erreichen, während die neueste Version von WiFi (die aber auch deutlich mehr Strom verbraucht als ZigBee oder Z-Wave), 1 Gigabit pro Sekunde erreichen kann – 1 Million kbps.

ZigBee

Im Gegensatz zum Z-Wave-Standard ist ZigBee ein offener Smart Home Standard, der auf der Wireless-Data-Spezifikation IEEE 802.15.4 basiert. Zu den Herstellern von ZigBee-Geräten gehören GE Appliances, LG, Logitech, Philips Hue Lights und Samsung. (Einige dieser Hersteller verwenden auch Z-Wave, Bluetooth oder Wi-Fi.) ZigBee wird auch von Comcast und Time Warner Cable in Home-Gateway-Routern und Satellitenempfängern verwendet.

Amazon Echo Plus
Amazon's Echo arbeitet mit dem ZigBee Smart Home Standard. (Quelle: amazon.com)
Amazon's Echo arbeitet mit dem ZigBee Smart Home Standard. (Quelle: amazon.com)

Die Zigbee-Frequenzen liegen in den lizenzfreien ISM-Bändern um 868 MHz, 915 MHz und 2,4 GHz, was einen niedrigen Stromverbrauch ermöglicht, aber die Daten auf 40 kbps oder auf die 2,4-GHz-Frequenz beschränkt, was bis zu 250 kbps zulässt, aber Wi-Fi-Netzwerke stören könnte. Zu den Produkten von ZigBee gehören die intelligente Philips Hue-Glühbirne, die Logitech Harmony Ultimate One, Bewegungsmelder von Bosch und Indesit-Waschmaschinen. ZigBee unterstützt auch batteriebetriebene Geräte, von denen einige bis zu sieben Jahre mit einem Batteriesatz betrieben werden können.

Da die beiden Protokolle unterschiedlich kommunizieren, sind ZigBee- und Z-Wave-Geräte oft inkompatibel. Viele Smart-Home-Hubs wie Lowe’s Iris, Wink’s Hub und Samsung SmartThings unterstützen beide Protokolle, auch wenn dies auf der Verpackung nicht der Fall ist.

Wie oben erwähnt, ist ZigBee etwas schneller als Z-Wave und ist im Allgemeinen billiger für Gerätehersteller zu implementieren. ZigBee hat aktuell Reichweiten von 10 – 75 Meter, während mit Z-Wave 30 -150 Meter erreicht werden können.

Unser Fazit

Aus Verbrauchersicht ist es egal, welchen Smart-Home-Funkstandard man wählt, zumal ZigBee und Z-Wave hinsichtlich Funktionalität und Stromverbrauch praktisch identisch sind. Der Stromverbrauch der Bridge ist jeweils minimal, jedoch müssen sich kompatible Geräte im Standby befinden, um sie z. B. per Smartphone anzusprechen. Je mehr Geräte Sie einbinden, desto mehr Strom wird zwangsläufig verbraucht.


Am besten entscheiden Sie, welche Smart-Home-Geräte Sie verwenden möchten, und sehen dann, wie viele von ihnen auf dem einen oder anderen Standard verfügbar sind. Glücklicherweise sind viele Marken von Smart-Home-Netzwerk-Hubs bereits mit zwei oder mehr dieser Smart Home Standards kompatibel.

Wird es jemals einen generellen Smart Home Standard geben? Das bleibt die große Zukunftsfrage. Experten in der Branche sagen, dass ZigBee und Z-Wave 10 Jahre Zeit hatten, um Allianzen zu bilden und Geräte zu zertifizieren, mit dem Ergebnis, dass Tausende von kompatiblen Geräten zwischen ihnen auf dem Markt sind. Man denkt, dass es noch weitere 10 Jahre dauern wird, bis wir eine Konsolidierung sehen.


Menü
Mit einem Freund teilen